Batara Guru

Finally I draw wayang after about 10 years. I drew it on high school (gosh, I think I’m getting old)

Why now?

Couple days ago, I went to batik store and saw a wayang. It reminds me when I was on high school. I drew Hanoman, the white monkey god, on a paper and put it to cover excessive sunlight in my class.

Drawing process

I drew it on a paper. I actually want to draw on canvas, but I have no confidence.

So I started using pencil on paper. Make a doodle, here and there. Check the initial images below.bataraguru1

I didn’t really plan it. I just have a piece of paper on my desk. I saw a pencil, take it and sketch.

I continue using a pen, not a drawing pen, it’s just a regular gel ink pen and outline the sketch.bataraguru2

Here is the final version. I put a clothes, add accessories, draw a pattern… and voila, there he is.

It’s not perfect but I like it. Kinda a good start to create others…kinda 🙂

It’s drawn with Surakarta (Solo) style.

Batara Guru

Character name: Batara Guru

Date of birth: March 21, 2014

Style: Surakarta/ Solo

Media: pen on paper, pencil sketching

Owner/ location: personal collection/ at my office, Yogyakarta, Indonesia 😉

 

Why Batara Guru?

I work as a teacher. In Javanese, Guru means teacher.

…and he is pretty unique. Four handed guy, riding a calf, have many weapons, powerful, but he is falling from grace.

You may want to search the story about him. It’s interesting.

For your info, UNESCO put Indonesian wayang kulit as a Masterpiece of Oral and Intangible Humanity on November 7, 2003.

I appreciate it by willing to know more about wayang and draw it.

I will make some characters based on my imagination too 😉

 

ars

Leave a Reply

